DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The night before a semi-long trip with our 5th Wheel, my uconnect stopped responding correctly to input. I reset the system just to be annoyed even more because the map showed me several hundred miles from where we were actually at (it corrected itself several hours later). I have had minor problems with the uconnect system but nothing to get your panties in a bunch over. Now, I can't even tell the system to play a certain channel because the touchscreen isn't working properly. I don't mind verbally telling the truck what to do but there are many commands that can only be entered manually. Does anyone know of a way to calibrate the touchscreen or do you think I'm going to have to replace the whole thing? We'll be heading back home in a few days and would rather not take it in for service because while, the mechanics are great with mechanical work, they don't do so well with the electronics.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
34,749 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
32,781 Posts
My RA4 8.4an guidance sucks a big one

The Nav in my 2009 had the RER high speed at least showed me on the correct street

My 2016 showed me about 200 miles away from my actual location & wanted to start my routing out at almost 2000 miles away in Ohio
I had to cancel the Nav routing & go back into it
There is something going on with the GPS

If i left my place in San Diego & wanted the routing to say Scottsdale Arizona & the GPS locates me in Dayton Ohio, who knows, the routing may take me to Japan !!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's not really the nav that I'm worried about. It's the whole system. The nav works great when I can get the system to recognize what I'm saying verbally, I've had to learn how to speak pig-Latin, what I want the end result for is getting the touchscreen to recognize where i'm pressing so that it will accept the input. There is usually a calibration for touchscreens but I guess in this new age, they decided that the calibration screen was not needed. Go figure.
 

·
Premium Member
2013 RAM Laramie Crew Cab
Joined
·
3,442 Posts
My RA4 8.4an guidance sucks a big one

The Nav in my 2009 had the RER high speed at least showed me on the correct street

My 2016 showed me about 200 miles away from my actual location & wanted to start my routing out at almost 2000 miles away in Ohio
I had to cancel the Nav routing & go back into it
There is something going on with the GPS

If i left my place in San Diego & wanted the routing to say Scottsdale Arizona & the GPS locates me in Dayton Ohio, who knows, the routing may take me to Japan !!
check in your nav settings that you are in the correct state. When I first got my Laramie I had to set my home state.
 

·
Premium Member
2013 RAM Laramie Crew Cab
Joined
·
3,442 Posts
We can voice activate the nav on the ,8.4 ?
Yes. There was an update that corrected the voice commands. Mine works much better after getting the update.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top