DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Forum.

A LITTLE BACKGROUND:
I recently posted a thread called "will the ride improve". I bought a 6.4L 2500 4.10gear to pull my travel trailer. I intended to drive the 2500 as a daily driver. The 2500 was so rough and clunky that my wife would not ride in it, and it was literally making my kidneys ache (we called it the "kidney buster"). I pulled the trailer 500 miles with the 2500 (Dallas - Tulsa), and it certainly did a great job of pulling. However, even with the trailer weight, the truck was almost undrivable for comfort and gas mileage.

I am a "weekend warrior" camper. I pull about once a month and stay local around Texas and Oklahoma. Payload typically includes 2 adults and 2 kids with bikes and grills.

I am a fairly experienced trailer man. I have pulled many trailers with both 1/2 ton and 3/4 ton trucks. I have handled trailering emergencies. I have a masters degree in mechanical engineering (go sooners) and have experience with vehicle drive trains and transmissions.

So, I traded the 2500 in for a 1500 HEMI 3.92gear. That mistake cost me $7,000 in trade in value.

THE TECHNICALS:
I bought the 2014 HEMI 1500 Laramie 3.92gear - 8spd tranny 4x4 with tow package and integrated controller. I installed AirRite 1000 bags and Timbren Bushings. (see pictures attached)

From the Dodge Website that truck is rated to "safely pull" 8,673# with 1327# payload. The truck is advertised for 395HP and 410lbsft torque.

My trailer is a Rockwood Ultra Lite 8327SS travel trailer. I weighed the trailer at certified CAT scales trailer weight is 8,500# and tongue weight is 1200#. I have a Trekker weight distribution hitch. This is fully loaded configuration.

I am definitely at the limit of advertised weight. With kids and bikes I am at the payload limit. After a delicious steak dinner, maybe a pound or two over.

THE RESULTS: