DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I have been reading through the threads and apologize if I am duplicating with this one. I found a decent deal on a truck which has everything I want, and then some, but it has the 3.21 axle. With the 8-sp, will the 3.21 handle towing a 6,000lb trailer up some decent hills? I have a mile long hill to my house which I would tow up a few times each month and also plan on towing over mountain passes a couple times a year. The VAST majority of my driving will be hauling kids to and from school/soccer/whatever.

For reference, I'm looking at a 2013 Longhorn with 8 speed. Also has ramboxes so I know my capacity is getting tight with all the longhorn goodies plus RB. Also for reference, I'm a compete novice on trailering so I have not much clue on gears and towing impact - feel free to set me straight!

Thanks,

·
Registered
161 Posts
If that is a hemi engine, it will probably handle 6k lbs okay. I've towed my 25' travel trailer all over with my 3.9L V6 Dakota. I would prefer a higher ratio though if I cold get it. What's the next one up, 3.92 or something? Or 3.55?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If that is a hemi engine, it will probably handle 6k lbs okay. I've towed my 25' travel trailer all over with my 3.9L V6 Dakota. I would prefer a higher ratio though if I cold get it. What's the next one up, 3.92 or something? Or 3.55?
3.55 is the next up and I believe that is actually the standard build so the dealer custom ordered 3.21 i believe.

After 3.55 you move up to 3.92, nice thread discussing 3.55 v 3.92 just a little below this one.

** Yes, this would be the Hemi

·
Registered
161 Posts
Actually, when I said higher ratio, I really meant HIGHER numbers - the higher the number, the lower the ratio. Lower ratio means more towing power, less strain on drive train under towing pressure. Confused yet?

·
Registered
89 Posts