DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm looking to buy a 16300 GVWR RV and tow it with a Ram I'm probably going to purchase within the next year. Can I get by with a 2500 SRW with a gas engine or am I living in a dream and will really need a diesel engine to pull that much weight? The Hitch weight is 2338 (+ ~500 lbs for loaded probably). Also can I get away with a SRW or will I need a dually? This truck will likely become a daily driver but my purpose in buying it will be to pull that rig around. The RV specs are:

Dry: 13340
GVWR: 16300
Hitch Weight: 2338
Length (in case it matters): 41' 10"

·
Registered
3,264 Posts
Here's my opinion, and bear in mind I don't tow over 8000# trailering, so I have no heavy hauling experience.

A single rear wheel 4x4 3500 maxes out at 15,620 towing with a crew cab short bed, 6.4, 4.10 axle. There's plenty of payload to handle the weight (3990#) if you're staying under the max ratings of the trailer; you'll have about 2,000# for passengers, gear, etc before you're max'd.

A dual rear wheel gasser will give you more payload (6670 with a long bed) but the trailer max is 15,600, so no advantage in trailer capacity, but I suspect it will be more stable.

So if you want to max out the trailer ratings, you can't do it with a gasser. Here's the towing specs. If you get a truck with decent options, the capacity drops.
https://www.ramtrucks.com/content/dam/fca-brands/na/ramtrucks/en_us/towing/2018%20Ram%203500.pdf

If you're towing short trips on tame terrain, you can work the SRW gasser, but if you're putting on significant miles, the diesel will save fuel and pull better.