DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been experiencing an annoying chugging motion on my RAM 1500 truck when at full stop and slightly release the brake pedal to slowly move forward. I've been told by the dealer that it is a common problem on the dodge caravan, something to do with brake - transmission issues that dodge has not yet been able to fix. Has anyone had this problem on their truck? and could it be something as simple as air in the brake line? Thanks.

·
Registered
2,503 Posts
I think what your dealer is referring to is fluctuation in the output torque from the torque converter. Apparently, at very low speeds, it is normal to get some pulsations in the converter output torque, which feels like a surge or bucking. I'm not a converter expert, but I believe this is due to the hydrodynamic flow within the converter. It is apparently present to some extent in all torque converters, but some designs exhibit a higher level of pulsations than others. I think in the case of the Caravans, it's more evident when trying to back up a grade. Do you find that yours is worse on an uphill grade than on flat ground?

In any event, this is probably inherent in the converter design. I doubt that you have a "defective" converter - I suspect they all exhibit similar pulsations under the same conditions. But maybe your dealer could compare yours to a like vehicle, and if yours is significantly worse, perhaps replacing the converter would be the thing to try.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)