DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, this is my first time back in a several months.

I wanted to share this picture with all of you that I took towards the end of a very long day to show you that the Hemi will make good fuel mileage. In early May I took a trip from the Oklahoma Panhandle to southern Mississippi. I left just after midnight and had a meeting planned for 3pm over 900 miles away in Mississippi. My route took me to OKC where I got on I-40, then I went east all the way to Memphis, then south almost to Jackson, Mississippi. I made my 3pm appointment and then went on to Jackson and finally west on I-20 to Vicksburg to spend the night. I took this photo of my trip odometer showing the total miles traveled and Mpg. This was the furthest i've ever driven in one day and I was beat, but I was very pleased with how the Hemi performed on the interstate. The cruise was set the entire way at around 75 mph. I love this truck!

Attachments

·
Registered
708 Posts
Of course! I've averaged as high as 25 mpg for a tank with my 2017 hemi. Was a bit of a boring ride, but once you learn how to control the MDS.

·
Registered
3,097 Posts
That is with 3.92 gears too..

I need a tailwind to get to 21 or very high elevation.

I wonder what is different between your 17 and my 16 Outdoorsman to have such an mpg difference?

·
Registered
3,264 Posts
My truck was capable of that before I messed with it. Once I leveled it, added a plow (cuts into the lower valance), added upsized AT tires....kissed that goodbye ;)
I'm glad you're pleased with the truck, it is capable of good mileage and it's very comfortable while doing so.

·
Super Moderator
34,750 Posts
It will do better than 21, mine has, though now with the heavy all terrains not so much.